Cookies are required for login or registration. Please read and agree to our cookie policy to continue.

Newest Member: Brokenbiscuits

Off Topic :
working in IT for a public school system

Topic is Sleeping.

toonces (original poster member #25949) posted at 10:25 PM on Tuesday, September 6th, 2022

Hello everyone,

Looking for the collective wisdom of this group for comments or suggestions.

Like the title, I work in IT for a public school system. Most of my career has been in private industry and I have 30+ years of experience.

In July 2021, the IT director left. The school system (i.e. superintendent) decided to outsource the IT director role. The big mistake is that he brought in this company that is 40 miles from us. The oldest person there is about 26-27 years old. It was the opinion of the school's IT team that they are too small, too young, not enough experience, etc. We informed the superintendent of our concerns but we were ignored.

There is a new elementary school being built and we know nothing of the computing infrastructure. Our suggestions are ignored, denied, or they do the opposite.

Fast forward to present day. Three of the tech team has left and one has retired. That leaves me as the only remaining person. I have told management that I am retiring in 6 months (or earlier).

The city's HR dept is aware of the issues but hasn't done a thing. My wife is fine if I quit tomorrow.

About a month ago I had a meeting with the superintendent. He had to end the meeting after a 1/2 hour and I still wasn't done bringing up all the issues we have with the outsourcing company. Nothing has been addressed.

Some days I look forward to going to work just to see how bad things can get. I can afford to retire when I want to. The analogy I use is it's like going to a demolition derby, no one attends to watch the racing.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to the replies.

Me - BS
Her - WS
affair length - 6 months with OM
married since 7/92
d-day 4/2002